Always Something New to Learn – Week 10

This post is part of a series documenting my progress through Michelle Bridges 12 Week Body Transformation Challenge (12WBT). To read the first post click here.

Week 10

No matter how much you think you know, or think you’ve learnt, there is always a new lesson, waiting, just around the corner.

In fact, the more I work on making exercise a regular and normal part of my life and the more I keep pushing myself to achieve my goals the more I realize these are not just exercise lessons I’m learning, these are life lessons.

This weeks lesson was all about finding the drive within myself.

Let me explain. I’ve had the drive all along, but if you’ve been following my progress then you would know that I’ve been doing this journey with my sister, Angie.

It’s been great. We push each other, we run really well together and it’s been awesome to achieve things we’ve never thought possible and to share in the pride that comes from fulfilling your goals.

Unfortunately, due to circumstances out of her control, Angie needs to take a break from her training and thus I am now on my own.

This week I slept in 3 times and then had to find other times during the day to train, working around the kids, husband and other commitments I had. I missed Friday altogether… Again.

Saturday morning my alarm went off at 5. My goal was to complete the Week Eight mini-milestone triathlon which I didn’t finish back in Week Eight. I had organised to try out a new gym and I knew I was doing it by myself.

The mornings I had bailed on my run or the gym, I had used the excuse: “I hate doing it by myself”.

When my alarm went off, I turned it off and gave myself the excuse above and stayed in bed. As I was drifting back to sleep I thought of all the things I had to do and was trying to figure out where I was going to fit in 2+ hours of exercise. I wasn’t. I was too busy, it was either now or never.

Then I had my ‘pin drop’ moment. “Come on Kate! Be brave, get up and go to this gym. If you want something bad enough you will make it happen!” That had become my motto, yet here I was making excuses again and getting into bad habits. I’d even convinced myself that going to a foreign gym at 5am was dangerous!

So two minutes later I was on my feet and 15 minutes later I was pounding the treadmill!

I pushed myself with all the will power I could muster. I wanted to quit so many times, but I finished it! 2 hours, 40 minutes and 1100 + calories later I had smashed that triathlon and I did it by myself.

Although I love training with my sister I can’t rely on her to be there every time I train or be my only source of motivation. That’s not her job! That’s my job. No matter what, I get up and I do what I’ve set out to do. I’ve got no-one to blame but myself for both my failures and my successes.

What a lesson that I can apply to the rest of my life! It’s up to me how hard I work, and despite the circumstances I can either give my best or pike!

This week I did burn over 500 calories in each of my five sessions which is a big improvement on Week Eight and Week Nine! Very happy with this result.

So, no more excuses! I know I can do it on my own and I know that it’s all up to me as to whether I make excuses or just do it!

What excuses are holding you back? What are you going to do about them?

About Kate Freeman
Kate Freeman is a Registered Nutritionist who is passionate about providing honest, simple nutrition advice and doing it in such a way that inspires and motivates you to make positive lifestyle changes to achieve your health and nutritional goals. She's married with 2 children and live in New South Wales, Australia.

One Response to Always Something New to Learn – Week 10

  1. georgia says:

    So awesome Kate! Yay! Well done!

Leave a Reply

