Go Hard or Go Home – Week 8

This post is part of a series documenting my progress through Michelle Bridges 12 Week Body Transformation Challenge (12WBT). To read the first post click here.

Do you know the saying: “Go hard or go home”?

Well… if that applied to my life in Week Eight, I’d be going home.

Don’t get me wrong, I trained 5 days last week and put in a good effort – but it hasn’t been my best effort. I’ve become comfortable.

Being comfortable is positive. It means that regular exercise has become normal and routine. Exercise has never been normal and routine for me, so that in itself is quite an accomplishment. I get up and exercise 5-6 times a week just like I brush my hair (I actually only brush my hair 3-4 times per week, so perhaps it’s not a great comparison, but you get the picture!).

Being comfortable, however, is also negative. When you become comfortable with something, you usually aren’t growing or learning – you’re just maintaining the status quo. This is better than nothing, because at least you aren’t going backwards but you’re also not going forwards or making any new ground. I’ve noticed that my heart rate doesn’t rise as high with certain exercises I did a month ago and I burn less kilojoules (calories) in a pump class than I used to.

Why? Because I’m fitter!

Why is this bad? It’s not bad, I’m just not pushing myself anymore. My fitness improvements mean that in order to get further results I have to work harder to get my heart rate up and get my body burning those kilojoules (calories).

I need to get back into pushing myself again if I want to break through my next fitness barriers. I realise now that Week Eight had just been about going through the motions. I ran 10 kms on the Tuesday without a second thought. 5 weeks ago, running 10 kms had been a huge occasion which was anticipated for days and then celebrated once it was achieved. Now it’s just part of what I do… How quickly things can change!

I have since re-set new goals. To participate in my first fun-run at the end of Week Eleven and run a half-marathon (21 kms) by the end of Week Twelve. I’m aiming to complete the Mother’s Day Classic (10 kms) in under 50 minutes. If I want to achieve these things, I’m going to have to start pushing myself again.

I either ‘go hard’ or ‘go home’.

I guess it’s kinda like life. How sad is it to get another year older only to find that you are the same as last year? Still dealing with the same issues or insecurities, still fighting the same battles, still bogged down in the same problems. I want to learn and grow all the time, not get lazy and remain the same.

The research is clear. You build muscle and fitness through progressive overload. In other words, you get bigger, stronger and faster if you push yourself each and every time you train. You obviously need to also rest and recuperate, but each time you train – push yourself to your limits and you will find improvement will come very quickly. I have found this to be true for the first half of the 12WBT, so it’s time to up the anti and get my ‘game on’ for the final 4 weeks!

Whose with me?

Image: photostock / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

About Kate Freeman
Kate Freeman is a Registered Nutritionist who is passionate about providing honest, simple nutrition advice and doing it in such a way that inspires and motivates you to make positive lifestyle changes to achieve your health and nutritional goals. She's married with 2 children and live in New South Wales, Australia.

5 Responses to Go Hard or Go Home – Week 8

  1. Erin says:

    Hi Kate,

    So glad I bumped into your blog. I was interested in joining the 12WBT next season, so was browsing through people’s opinion on the program. My biggest concern is that I will be too lazy during the first weeks and quit (as what happened so many times previously). But reading your blog on your progress each week motivates me to overcome my laziness to actually get results this time.
    Well done Kate with your achievement. Hope I can do the same too =)

    Regards,
    Erin

  2. Rachael says:

    Erin – This is my second 12wbt. First round I bombed terribly – I just wasnt in the right place mentally to do it. But still learnt HEAPS. This time around – 10kgs gone in 8 weeks and counting ;-)!

    Do it! I’m going to do the next round too!

    Kate – wish I had’ve seen these earlier in the round! Im with you all the way!!!!! Game On!! 😉 Although the having to go harder and faster to get the same burn is getting me a little down …… in a good way though ;-)!

    • Kate Freeman says:

      Awesome Rachael! It’s tough knowing that you have to work harder to keep pushing yourself! We so easily become complacent! Awesome weight loss effort, you are amazing! Glad you are with me! Let’s smash this thing!

      Erin – do it! You wont regret it!

  3. Pingback: The One I Wish I could Do Over – Week 9 « Kate Freeman Nutrition

  4. Pingback: Always Something New to Learn – Week 10 « Healthy Eating & Exercise Advice

Leave a Reply

